close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Downrigger question?

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by ocdfishguy, Sep 18, 2005.

1. A friend finaly decided to get a new boat, man is it nice 2005 baha 251GLE. Anyway he is having the dealer install all of his stuff so I don't have to this time. He had 4 downriggers on the old boat and he is going to have the 2 electric ones put on the new boat and I get the 2 manual ones. I have never used them before and plan to use them on some of the central ohio lakes. I plan on picking his brain but the only time he uses his is when he goes to N/Y fishing for kings. I am looking for any information from the guys that use them on smaller lakes. I have a basic idea of how they work but is there anything that I should keep in mind. Any tips or tricks would help me out. Thanks.

2. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

one trick is to use a stacker and fish more than 1 depth..onother trick is run a 3 way swivel and run a deep crank and something that runs shallow on top of it . the deeper bait needs a 6 ft leader off the 3 way and the shallow bait gets a 4 ft lead off the 3 way. anything is possible.

3. I'm not a downrigger expert, but I think I'd mount them on a track-type base (like a Bert's) so that if/when you decide to change to electrics you won't be drilling additional holes. Makes it easy to remove the rigers when you won't be using them, too.

Tim

4. Hook N Book

Hook N Book The Original Hot Rod Staff Member