close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Do saugeye try to spawn?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by wildbiologist, Feb 9, 2008.

1. Howdy, I'm new to this forum basically because I have a saugeye spawning question that I figure experienced anglers can answer better than current literature.

I am a wildlife biologist and understand the spawning behavior of walleye. I also understand that saugeye are a hybrid man-made fish cross between the walleye and sauger. Current literature labels the saugeye as infertile due to their hybridization. Makes sense.

However, I suspect that the saugeye don't realize they are infertile and go through the spawning process just like walleye and sauger; moving to shallow rip-rap in the early spring.

I don't have alot of experience fishing for saugeye, but a local lake here in Oklahoma is stocked heavily with them to help the great crappie population there.

I regularily catch monster saugeye by accident while fishing the crappie spawn at the end of April each year. I am wondering if anybody has any knowledge/experience fishing for saugeye. Specifically, I am wondering if I could catch the saugeye up on the rip-rap areas in early March (like they catch walleye in another lake a few hours from my home) going through the spawing process.

Thanks in advance for your time and effort in sharing.