Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hearing avout all these great tickets and just want to get in on some action, problem is I'm not outfitted for trolling, I have a 1967 16' deep v with 60 hp evinrude, she'l idle down and put along but fear of fouling plugs scares me and I don't know if idleing will be slow enough for trolling, besides I can carry only enough petro to get me out there into the 50-55' range I have seen 60' before but thats max with my two 6gal tanks 1/3- 2/3's system. Anyhow do you think with the right amount of line out and say a 3/4 to 5/8 ounce spinner with a crawler hanging off, there mighnt be a chance I can get withing striking range. What would be the best chances with primitive tactics? I've got boat got live bait.

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
there is always a chance!!! and yes you will get em' if you try hard enough!!!;) i'm still a rookie myself...3rd year...but your confidence level will dictate what you can/cannot do!!!if fuel is an issue get bigger tanks...watch the weather CLOSELY and have fun!!! some trips may dissapoint you and others will keep you going back!!! at least thats my experiance!!! take LOTS of crawlers and hang on tight!!! those so called trash fish put up one helluva fight!!!!:p :B

·
Registered
2,388 Posts
Look at my "lucky" post. A guy has to fish hard and stay with it but you can put fish in the boat with the "primitive" tactics. Just keep working it if there is a slow to no drift, you need to feel those blades turning.

·
Registered
9,378 Posts
Back in the 70's(before Lake Erie was the Walleye Capital!) and early eighties, those "primitive" tactics WERE the only ones we used! Erie Dearies, bottom walkers/harnesses probably put as many walleyes in the cooler as the Dypsy/ spoons have more recently(but perhaps over a much greater time span!) It might be time to make some moves to adapt to the "more modern" approaches though.

·
Northcoast Madman