Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I looked for some posts on here and could not find any so I thought I would ask. I am new to deer hunting and had a question about deer stands on public land. The regulation booklet says you can not construct any permanent type tree stand on public land. Does that mean I can take a ladder stand in, attach it to a tree and lock it to the tree or do I have to remove the stand when I leave the grounds for the day? The reg is a little fague so I thought I would reach out on here. Thanks!

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
best of my knowlege they must be removed daily...

·
Registered
1,963 Posts
I talked with a ODNR officer about this last year, and this is what he told me. You can put a tree stand up on public land as long as there are no spikes or nails in the tree. So really what they are saying is as long as it does not damage the tree. He also told me that I would probably want to lock it up and put my full name with a phone number on it. He told me I could leave it there but I had to realize that if it were left on public property it becomes public property, and not to call him when I show up one morning and someone else is in my stand because there is nothing he can do. I personally would never get into someone else's stand but I'm sure there are a lot of people out there that would. I bought a climber I plan to use for public land, kind of a pain but oh well I guess. I have seen many ladder stands on public land you just run the risk of someone else being in it. Oh yeah and he also told me that it had to be removed at the end of the season. Hope this helps. If in doubt call your local ODNR officer, they will be happy to answer your questions, better to ask than risk a ticket.

·
Registered
390 Posts