close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

darby monday with pb smallie

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by shwookie, Jul 30, 2007.

1. shwookie

shwookie fishing from a kayak

I had to hit the darby after stuckathome decided to deface my creek by fishing it.

Luckily, he left me a few fish, I caught my first good sized lm out of the darby, well good for the darby anyways, and caught my first real football.
    He was short of my longest by about 1/2", but he had some real girth to him.

I caught him and the lm on the same lure, a topwater lure I found in a tree at griggs on friday. I have no idea what it is, but it works very well. I'm new to smallies in general, and top water to boot, but after a few misses I was able to start landing them.
    What a rush.

Anyways, on to the pics.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I really wish there was a better way to take pics when by yourself, but the cell phone in one hand and fish in the other will have to do untill my third arm fully develops.

2. Bubba bass bigfoot

Bubba bass bigfoot Lucky Fisher, or skilled?

Nice fish, both of them. I habe gottne a few Lm out of the Darb but none that big.

Top water is a blast.
    What does the top water lure look like, i might know what it is.

3. shwookie

It looks like a rapala popper, but is textured. Nothing special, I probably could take it to dick and match it up, but I love the fact I found it in a tree and its probably one of top go to baits suddenly.

I'll go to bps and see if I can find a pic of it.

4. shwookie

no, no.
    Its a matzuo of some kind.

5. Bubba bass bigfoot

Bubba bass bigfoot Lucky Fisher, or skilled?

alright. Have not tried those, i have XPS pop'r's and they worl well, but sometimes suspend just under the surface. Kinda odd.
    Congrats on the PB again.

6. shwookie

Thanks, but that picture doesn't due him justice. When you hold them vertically, they stretch out and look lean.