close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dale Hollow guys

Discussion in 'Fishing Reports - Out of State' started by ShakeDown, Apr 6, 2004.

1. ShakeDown

ShakeDown OGF Staff Staff Member Admin

Any word from any of the old crew on how their DH trips went? Dyin to see pics!

2. Hey Shake, glad to find everybody still around. Got back from DH Sunday and went to the old site, and couldn't figure out what was up. Anyway, the weather Thursday and Friday was rough. Being a DH rookie, I threw everything I had at 'em and came up empty for the smallies, so we resorted to chasing the crappie. Glad we did. BIG crappie down there, especially for a lake that gets no recognition for it's slab fishing. We slayed the slabs :D . Caught some biggins too. Biggest was 17 inches. My scale broke, so I'm not sure on weights of anything we caught, but I have pics. I'll post them if I can figure out how to get the Picture Cd to work on my computer. I haven't bought a digital camera yet, but it may happen soon. We finally got into some smallies on day two, but sad to say we had to go to live shiners and minnows to find them. Maybe it's just my technique, but I didn't get a strike on any lures, other than the crappie I caught on jigs. Caught some nice smallies, no monsters. Largest one in our boat was 20", again, scale is shot :mad: There were four boats that went with us, and the big smallie of the trip was 23 inches, and the guy tried to tell us it was 7 lbs. Not sure since I didn't see it in person. Looked good in the picture though. All in all, not a bad trip. I defintiely look forward to making several more in the future. I recommend anyone who goes down spend at least a little time fishing for some crappie. You won't regret it. If for nothing else than dinner.

3. ShakeDown

ShakeDown OGF Staff Staff Member Admin