Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to creek fishing, but I am working a couple hundred yards from a creek that in the summer continues to run. I assume it is waist deep durring the summer, but I really don't know.

Can someone please give me a basic primer on creek fishing?

What works?
What doesn't?

As far as what I want to catch, I am really just looking for some action. I am not a great fisherman. When I fish it is usually from a canoe, on a lake. I either explore the lake dragging a couple lines behind me, or sit with a bobber. If I am lucky and work all day at it, I usually catch dinner.

Thanks

·
Registered
79 Posts
I just started Creek fishing last year at little beaver. I've found that 3.5" tubes do the trick for the bass and eyes. I'm sure there are other people with more experience that will chime in with more useful info, but that's what works for me.

·
Registered
498 Posts
Generally speaking, active fish will position themselves near the heads of pools or into the riffles looking for food. Fish, even active ones, will try to use as little energy as possible, so will position themselves behind or next to structure that reduces the current. Try to approach from downstream casting upstream, so you dont spook the fish with mud, etc. Light lines and light tackle are a plus, allowing you to throw smaller lures/baits. As for the lure or bait, you'll get a hundred different opinions on this. Use something small that mimics food, either crawdads or minnows. Use something that you have confidence in, that you know how to fish. I use spinners.

·
deleted
3,891 Posts