close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

crappie that still haven't spawned?

Discussion in 'Panfish Discussions' started by Banker, Jul 9, 2005.

1. Banker

Banker Banned

This morning I caught a crappie (about 10") that had a huge belly. I guess it could have just been stuffed with food, but it looked like like the ones I was catching earlier with eggs(this was in the Scioto river). Is there are way to distinguish if its food or eggs (like maybe when they're spawning they just get a much bigger belly than they do when stuffed with food?)...other than gutting them?

Also this is my first year fishing in Ohio in 10 years and I've been catching crappie close to shore in shallower water throughout the year (while the #'s are down now, I'm still catching them close to shore...in shallower water)...just this morning caught 4 (all black! pretty cool)......so does the "crappie bite" seem to be going longer this year than a typical year? if so what reasons would contribute to this? thanks

2. Banker

Banker Banned

so is it possible that there are still crappie with eggs that have yet to spawn on 7/9? or is it just too late in the season and did I probably just catch "one stuffed crappie"?

3. Over the many years of hunting for Crappies on the shores of Erie, I have found three areas that have cold springs feeding in Sandusky Bay. These springs produce colder water than the main body and at times late into Spring or even Summer I have caught spawing crappies in this type of water.

To me, crappie are like people, not all do the same thing at the same time.
    The colder Spring this year kinda shook up the normal times to find Crappie in the Spring and I believe also mixed up the crappies urge to mate and produce.

Then it went to the real hot weather and the water temps rose very fast, which drove the Crappie to deeper water.