Coyote

Discussion in 'The Lodge' started by Nightprowler, Nov 6, 2007.

1. Nightprowler

Nightprowler Crappie Hunter

I was asked by the land owner, who's property I bow hunt for deer, to help them with getting rid of the coyotes. I have seen a few but NEVER close enough for a shot. I know very little about trapping, and was wondering if this would be the best way? Also if someone could show me a few ways they have has sucess. All tips will help. Thanks.

2. I am far from an expert on this topic but I have always heard that it calling coyotes is similar to fox calling in that it is best in the winter when the food source is a bit more scarce. They will get much braver and respond to calls more readily. If it were me I would give calling a try on a cold frosty winter day or night. I am curious to hear other suggestions as well as I have not seen them around my place but have recently heard them a bit at night so I know there are some around now.

3. You should conseal yourself as much as possible but still have a wide field of view. A coyote will respond to a call and most likely try to get downwind of the call location. Use of a decoy (live or fake) with some motion imparted will eliminate a lot of the downwind checks. Above all, stay motionless and have your gun in the ready position at all times. If you miss, you won't be calling that same yote in again for a long time. Good luck.

4. lg_mouth

lg_mouth It's Trigger Time!!!

Spring is good too because the pups are a little more eager to respond to calls.

Lg_mouth