Couple Rookie Questions

Discussion in 'Hard Water Discussions' started by CrewCabMax, Jan 14, 2009.

1. I am new to this, never done it at all actually. I'm looking to possibly start ice fishing. I was wondering a couple of things. How do you measure ice for proper thickness? That is my main concern of course, is making sure the ice is thick enough. Also, is there any other way to get through the ice besides and augor? Not looking to dump money into this untill i know if i like it or not. Thanks for any help you have. I'm looking to go out after some crappies and gils around the Springfield area. If there is anyone around here that wouldnt mind a tag a long for a couple trips, i'm very interested in learning. Would be more than willing to buy lunch/breakfast or whatever. Thanks in advance.

Joe

2. Smart man always best to go with a seasoned pro. Safety on the ice is most important. Clothing and especially footwear is next. Regardless of how good of equipment you got if you can't stay resonably warm you will not enjoy yourself.

You should have no shortage of invites as this site has lots of helpful guys. A bit of predjudice here but I trully believe the hardwater guys are the best there is. At being helpful and just plain friendly.

3. papa has it there!! safety FIRST!! then stay warm...if your like me cold feet=go home so i got a pair of guide gear 2000gr rubber boots that are great!! you can use a spud bar(made mine out of 2' angle iron skrewed to a broom handle and its great!) to check ice...4'' min but guys fish less including me...best advise is pair up with a seasoned icer and get out there!! good luck and be safe!