Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So now that I feel like there's a good amount of carp anglers on here willing to exchange information, I had some bait questions.
I've never caught a carp on anything but flavored sweet corn. Though, I have tried other routes. I've made now, two batches of boilies. I've gotten hits and a channel cat on them, but no carp. And though I don't think it's too bad of a mix, I just have lost my confidence in them. On the flip side, I am a novice bait maker so maybe I just need to revamp my recipe. I've also tried Wheatie balls twice now and no take. (I don't really like the idea of the little cereal balls anyway.) The next chance I get, I'm going to buy some professionally made boilies and pop ups online to give those a try.
So my question is, what baits (chum, hook baits, attractants) do you have most luck with?
I'm very interested in the different aspects of this type of fishing so I figured I'd start with the stuff that actually gets the hook in their mouths!

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

·
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Perch:
It's called a hair rig. It allows you to have more corn on your rig at once and any bait for the matter, while leaving the hook completely exposed for the fish to slurp up with the mouthful.
Though that second picture was the exact rig that I caught my first carp using the hair knot, I do not recommend making it that long. About 1 inch hair or less is ideal so that they get both the bait and the hook in their mouth instead of only the hair.

·
Registered
234 Posts
I usually chum with boiled feed/deer corn. Put some in a pot and fill it with twice as much water as there is corn. Bring it to a boil and set the timer for 60 minutes. Let it cool in its own water and it is ready to go. You can also use this as your hookbait. Some of the corn will be split open but there will also be some whole kernels left. I typically only use 2-3 kernels of corn on my hair.