close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Cordless Drill or Power Auger?

Discussion in 'Hard Water Discussions' started by Ruminator, Feb 2, 2009.

1. Ruminator

Ruminator TeamOGF

I have a great 7" StrikeMaster Lazer. I've been wanting to buy a high quality cordless drill to power it as I'm developing some arthritis in my shoulders.

In looking at the prices for a good cordless drill, I'm wondering about spending some more money and buying a power auger.

I already have an adapter for a drill that a friend gave me, but that and the Lazer can easily be sold if I were to buy a power auger.

I know the drill can be used for actual drilling use, but I have a fairly new Porter-Cable corded drill to fill these needs. So I'm free and clear to go either direction.

What is your experience with either a drill or a power auger?

What is the best drill on the market for powering an ice auger right now?
    Last year I was looking at a Makita and a Panasonic...

Is there a power auger namebrand that is the best to buy?

2. true2plue

true2plue TEAM BATO!!

I tried using my 19V Porter Cable cordless drill, only to find out it just doesn't have the balls to drill several holes. The ice was only about 6", and I was able to barely drill 2 holes. Gas auger is definitely the way to go!!;) BTW...I was using an 8" auger.

3. Lewis

Lewis ORIGINAL TEAM OGF

Jim,I would probably go with the cordless drill.
    You want at least an 18 volt drill and 2 batteries.
    Remember to keep the batteries warm.
    This should serve your needs very well.
    Remember,I used to make and sell the auger adapters?:)
    Talk to Shortdrift about what fine job his does.

If you have shoulder troubles..its not very good on them carrying around a heavy power auger anyway.
    Ohio ice thickness on inland lakes usually averages 6-10 inches anyway.
    If you are fishing around crowds firing up a gas auger can make you a few enemies also!