close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Columbus Area Fishing?

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by redone29, Jun 22, 2004.

1. I'm new to the Columbus area and am looking for some places to fish. Either from shore or by a boat powered only by a trolling motor. If anyone could give me some suggestions, Thanks. I grew up in the Ohio Valley fishing strip pits and the Ohio River so those types of water would be preferred. I fished Griggs Resevoir but the banks just got pounded by waves from ski boats. Didn't care much for that. Thanks.

2. Nickadams

Nickadams goenfurshen

Hoover Resevoir up around Galena & Westerville will probably offer the most diverse fishing without having to deal with a ton of pleasure boaters. It is a 10hp limit lake and has tons of crappie, saugeye, catfish, and largemouth. Hope this helps. :)

3. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

you won't find much in the way of your preferred type waters around columbus,but there's plenty of other water.hoover is a 9.9 hp lake that can be fished from bank or boat.plenty of productive water within reach of the ramps,that is electric accessible,for many species.antrim lake is a decent place for bank fishing,with trout,cats,bass,crappie,carp.
    scioto and olentangy rivers(including griggs and a'shaunessy res. and spillways) for numerous species,along with big walnut and alum creeks.
    delaware lake and spillway,and buckeye lake are within 30 minutes.the darby creeks hold bass,cats and more.
    there are probably others who can add to the list,and there are other decent waters within an hour or so drive of columbus.

4. ShakeDown

ShakeDown OGF Staff Staff Member Admin