close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Chumming, prebaiting, whatever you call it...

Discussion in 'Carp Discussions' started by cwcarper, May 25, 2005.

1. I've been fishing a lot of short sessions these days, and it seems the only way I have confidence anymore is if I can prebait the area a day or two in advance (unless it's a place where I know for sure carp are holding and feeding). I've not really done much of this so I had a few questions about it.

1. How do you prefer to get the bait out there? Catapult, spod, boat??
    2. How much do you need to throw out for it to be effective and how large of an area do you cover?
    3. What sort of structure, depth, etc. do you look for if baiting a new spot or lake?
    4. Other than corn, what are some of the better/easier baits to use?

Anyone have an input on this??

2. I am no expert at all :eek:
    I know what has worked for me in 4 areas and the same did not work in two others...
    I boil field corn and let it set in an old cooler till it ferments if I do not have that kind of time I add several bottles of imitation vanilla extract, the dollar store variety works...
    I always used a hand held scoop to toss out the chum and now I use a plastic yellow bat that I cut the end off of... Someone else posted about that technique and it works great even though it covers an area larger then I like...
    I like to chum the mouths of bays but into the bay not out in the main lake because, why I remember I have no idea, but I once saw an illiustration on In-Fishermen TV that showed carp travel patterns and that was one of them...