Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm from Southern Ohio and just found this metro park today. Wow, is it gorgeous! It looks as pretty as a stretch as I've ever seen...reminds me of W.V.. Does anyone know if it holds smallmouth? Also, is it safe to wade? Thank you for any info.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the info!
You'd think there'd be some hawgs in there, but I seen the sign that says raw sewage can overflow after big rains....maybe only wade with waders.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Yes I would wear waders, I’m no expert on the Cuyahoga River but there are parts of the river close to where you are talking about that hold some pretty decent size pike and larger SM bass , maybe some other members can help with more information

·
Registered
9,658 Posts
There Has been reported contact with steelhead there in Fall thru Spring. There has always been a chance at Northerns in the river as well though mostly From Cuy Falls to Mantua. State is removing more dams in the Cuyahoga drainage so these encounters should become more routine in the future. Much better adversaries in the river than little SM(IMHO!)

·
Banned
1,866 Posts
There Has been reported contact with steelhead there in Fall thru Spring. There has always been a chance at Northerns in the river as well though mostly fro zkent to Mantua. State is removing more dams in the Cuyahoga drainage so these encounters should become more routine in the future. Much better adversary in a river than little SM IMHO!
"Alleged allegations" of steelhead in that section. ;)

Honestly I fished the Hoga exclusively for steelhead for a few years, came back to Ohio and many of my favorite spots in that area were filled in and didnt have the proper depth anymore.

·
Banned
1,866 Posts