close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Chicken Liver Help!

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by midoh39, Jul 24, 2007.

1. midoh39

midoh39 member

I'm very new to fishing with livers. Here's my question, while fishing at Kiser Lake today we would get alot of hits or even just little taps and our liver would be gone. Is there anyway to some how tie the livers on or something??

2. Wrap the liver in a mesh bag like thet use for steelhead eggs. You are getting bit by the panfish.

3. Yes, they do make a mesh bag somewhat like a lantern mantle,but I couldn't tell you where you could find them besides searching the web.On the other hand,how big of piece and what size hook are You using?There are a lot of yellow bellies in Kiser,which will steal bait,but normally will eat and swallow your hook.Small channels are another possibility,they tend to peck a the bait more than a yellow belly,in other words,You get a bite and it seems like they never actually take the bait,but You end up empty.Does this sound right? Also to use livers efficiently and keep them on the hook, they need to be kept on ice but not frozen and changed on the hook about every 20-30 minutes.There are alot of nice cats in Kiser,plus the occasional wiper,and now striped bass which will be interesting to see how the do. Good Luck!

4. i remember when we used to fish the river when i was younger, we used to take small rubberbands and use them to wrap around the livers and the hook. i also remember using panty hose, it may sound funny, but it did work. i used to hate touching the livers, so by using the pantyhose, i didnt have to keep sticking my hands in them and re-baiting the hook. try this, it should help

5. Flathead King 06

Flathead King 06 click...click...click

the panty hoes trick definitely works...thats what we always did

6. Nightprowler

Nightprowler Crappie Hunter