Catfishin around Athens

Discussion in 'Southeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Fish G3, Feb 23, 2009.

1. New to the area around Logan, Nelsonville, and Athens. Im a student at Hocking College and trying to find some places to hit up catfishin on the weekend. There any pay lakes around here? I dont normally fish them but its not to bad to get out early and fish there once or twice?

I've heard that Logan and Snowden have flatheads and decent population? What about Hope is it any good for cats? Not looking for spots just looking for someone to tell me if there's any good number of cats and what kind are in the lakes are around here. I dont mind channels but a flatty every once in a while is nice.

Thanks for all the info in advance guys.

2. logan and lake hope do have nice channel cats, don't overlook fox lake either

3. I went to OU can't beat Racine dam on the Ohio. It's worth the drive. Might try White's Mill in Athens at the end of Union street.

4. fisherman5567

fisherman5567 Fishin Everyday

you arent far from scioto river either...big flats

5. The Hocking River has a lot of big flatheads and channel cats. Do some scouting and you should find some good spots.

6. Fish G3 I go to hocking also send me a PM

7. The Hocking at White's Mill and downstream is full of channels in May and early June. Lots of small ones with some bigger fish mixed in. I've seen some flatheads come out of there, too.

8. RiverWader

RiverWader Cottontail Mafia

The Hocking River IS the Best place for Cats in the Area

9. -mike-

-mike- We got time for this?

Define "the Area".

10. Thanks for all the info, I'll be sure to post the reports as soon as this weather warms up.

11. I Fish

I Fish I am what I eat.