close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Catfish Rods, Let's Talk

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by H2O Mellon, Jan 19, 2009.

1. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon Hangin' With My Gnomies

I'm sure we've talked about this before, but what the heck it's winter time. I guess I've been catfishing for five years or so. Over that span I'd hate to think of how many cat rods I've had. To say 100 would not be over over estimating. Let's see, Shimano, Berkley, Pinnacle, American Spirit, Abu Garcia, Shimano, Moyer, Surge, Shakespeare, All Star, Mitchell, Quantum, Remmington (yes, that was my 1st Cat Rod), Cabelas, Bass Pro, Fenwick, St Croix and a couple custom rods too.

One of the more popular former rods that I've never owned is a Berkley E-Cat. Catfish Connection will have them once again beginning in April of this year by the way.

In the past I've had a bad habit of selling rods trying to find the perfect one for me or just for needing money. (Shut up DIP, Flathuner, Dink and Salmonid!! :) )

Anyways, even though I've had I believe seven St Croix Classic Cats (down to only one now) I still look for them regularly. St Croix re-released the blanks this year, they are marketed as Extra Heavy Muskie Rods, using the SCII Graphite and Fiberglass compound (make sure its the compound and not just the SCII graphite). I think they retail for $190. Of corse these days, I'm looking for the used ones for half the original price. :)