close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Catfish Bait Recipes

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by dsmith_88, Feb 9, 2005.

1. I know everybody has their own bait, and some keep their recipes a secret. I was wondering if anybody wanted to share what you catch alot of youir cats on? I really don't have any specific recipes myself. below are a list of what I use, but I don't get to go too often

Liver
    liver wrapped in cheese cloth
    Chicken Tenders
    Sardines wrapped in cheese cloth
    cut bait
    shrimp

I Would like to know what Other Catfishing artists use, If you are willing to share. I am basically a rookie when it comes to cats. My first love was for bass, but now I want to try for more cats.

thanks,
    david smith

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2015
  2. flathunter

flathunter Mellons mentor

Cut shad, and cut sucker

3. catking

catking Banned

If you are fishing lakes, just put on a large minnow, even better a large chub or goldfish and fish the bottom. I've caught more channel/flatheads like this than any other baits. The channel cats, and some very large, love live baits fished like this. In the rivers, either small or large, I fish cut baits like flathunter suggested . Cut baits out produce live baits in a river , where it's just the reverse in a lake ;) . In lakes, if you are in a jam, put about 4 nightcrawlers on a hook. I've caught some really nice cats doing this ;) .. Good Luck.........THE CATKING !!!

4. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon Hangin' With My Gnomies

I've never caught a cat in my life. Cats are affraid of me, I scare them. They swim away when I'm near. :rolleyes:

BUT............. I've got some great receipes for stuff that sounds good. :eek:

5. monsterKAT11

monsterKAT11 Team Fatty

yep mellon has even hit T-man and I with his curse!! :D i use chicken livers, cut shad, or live chad/goldfisih/chubs. worked pretty good for us last year. caught some nice channel on the livers.

6. flathunter