close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Catfish And Cooler Water?

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by PIKEMAN, Oct 7, 2004.

1. Catfishermen,

I'm new to chasing cats, and really don't know how to target lake flatheads this time of year. Should I be fishing deep, fishing shallow, fishing at all? I've read about river and lake cats seeking deep holes for semi-hibernation during winter. Is fishing lakes this time of year still productive? If yes when does the bite slow down (time of year or water temp)? I plan to target Tappan, Piedmont, and maybe Salt Fork over the next couple of weekends.

I fished the Cripple Creek tournament for the first time last month. Those guys really know how to catch catfish. I plan to try fishing like Jim Corey (and the tourny winner too) recommended..... just use the boat to take the lines out, then hang out quietly on shore and wait for the bite. I've always fished from my 14' aluminum boat, but then I've never caught a 43# catfish either!

Thanks for any advise,

Dave

2. Now can be a very productive time of year for flatheads, sometimes the best action all year. I still target the same shallow bays I fish in the summer. Fishing will probably slow down once the water temps get into the 50s and stay there.

3. I took a stab at Piedmont Lake this Saturday night. Unfortunately I ended up skunked, but there were some fish there. I was plagued by light bitters. I had many jingles (used small bells on end of rod to indicate a bit), but the fish never seemed to take the bait. I would reel in to check the bait only to find out that it was either chewed up or gone.

Is it typical for flatheads to bit so lightly? I was using circle hooks, so my plan was to wait for some definite movement of the bait before slowly reeling in to engage the hook. Maybe I was getting bits from channel cats, or saugeye, or something else?