Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this is the right place to post this but... I'm new to catching snappers and need some advice. I've been setting lines out at a private pond using mason rope, steel leader, and circle hook with cut blue gill. I caught a 50lber (not exaggerating) this way on the last day of the season april 30th. The passed two times, I've been going to the pond to check lines to find that the steel leader has been severed to shreds! I was wondering what yall use that has worked. ANY information/tips are much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
5,931 Posts
I'm no expert, so this advice is probably worth what you're paying. ;)
But, I'd lose the steel leader and tie directly to the hook. The steel leader is your weak link. I'd also use a standard hook, not a circle. I'm a little surprised you were able to hook them with a circle hook, the way their mouths are shaped it doesn't seem like it would work well.

·
Registered
2,823 Posts
I agree with Magis, lose the leader. Not sure of the of the mason rope, I always use 150 or 200# dacron without a leader & a normal hook. Are you using jugs or tying off to something non-movable ?? I little give will help wear them out.
50 pounder, I want to see pix !!!

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
You're onto a big snapper. He is twisting the line when hooked. You need a swivel in your line. Maybe even a spring to absorb shock in the line. Not a fishing swivel, more like a steel cable swivel. Or a dog chain swivel. Look up trapping snares. Those are the kind of swivel you need.

Or you could switch to jugs. But you get a lot of catfish that way.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·