close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Castnet for a newbie

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by Catfisher, May 25, 2005.

1. Looking to get a castnet and was wondering if there are some
    better for the newbie castnetter or are all about the same and
    also any certain size I should get (a bigger one or smaller one)
    to start off with ?

2. I am not good at throwing one so mine come from Walmart-easycast or easythrow.It has a alum ring built in the top of it.

3. rockbass

rockbass Banned

I just buy the ones from walmart.....I started out with a 3 ft radius I believe, then the one I have not is like 3 1/2 it was not hard to learn on the smaller one, then when I got the larger one, the extra 1 ft in diameter did take some getting used to.

I would go with a smaller one to start, then when it comes time to need a new one, maybe get a bigger one if you feel you need it!

4. mrfishohio

mrfishohio Recovering Fishaholic

Ditto, a cheap small net is great to learn on. Then just go to a bigger size, stay with cheap as you will get it snagged & ripped up eventually....

5. flathunter

flathunter Mellons mentor

I just tore one up today, and I went to Walmart and got another super spreader, $16.99 stay cheap.

6. mrfishohio

mrfishohio Recovering Fishaholic

Oh, they're good for big bass too. Jack, you should write the manufacturer of that net & tell them about buba bass....

7. I looked last night mine is a super spreader like Jack said.

8. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon Hangin' With My Gnomies

Jack doesnt realize it, but hs going to make me an expert castnetter this weekend!

9. dip

dip dip

I learned jakkal how to throw a cast net and he won't even invite me to fish with him! that's gratitude for you! and i learned willy whizz how to catch fish and now he won't fish with me. the one super human that i could learn something from won't fish with me. by the way, Betts tyzec cast net is better and cheeper than wally world junk nets.