close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Cast Net Warning

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Fish-N-Fool, Aug 23, 2004.

1. OK, let me start off by saying that I have been throwing a cast net for almost 3 years without incident - now for the good stuff.

Saturday I was casting for shad and paying no special attention to what I was doing. After my 4th cast I prepared to throw a very long, hard throw to reach a distant school. At some point during the throw a finger on my left hand became entangled in 1 of the main lead lines. The force of the throw combined with the weight of the net nearly ripped the tip of my finger off! :( I couldn't bare to look, but when I did all I could see was a swollen bloody mess! For the first couple hours it looked like I had stuck it in a blender :eek:

Now, 2 days later it's doing much better - I've got almost no skin above the knuckle and the finger tip is black/blue, but it appears I'll be just fine. I got so used to just throwing & throwing I never even gave it a thought.

I know I'll be the brunt of some jokes, but I would sure hate to see somebody lose a finger trying to catch bait. I know I'll be much more aware of what I'm doing!

Fool

2. monsterKAT11

monsterKAT11 Team Fatty

hmmmm.....i wonder if a finger would be good bait??? HAHA just kiddin i can't even throw a cast net :( . i'm sorry to hear that happened to you.

3. bill_gfish

bill_gfish Well, Gee Whiz!

I have had some close ones that very well could have ended up like yours. Don't feel bad. Had the net crack/twist/pull fingers on occasion. Doesn't feel good. Keep an eye on that finger.

Bill

4. gonefishin'

gonefishin' Lifestyle Farmer

I just bought a cast net. Thanks for the warning. How long diid it take you to get the hang of throwing the net? I've only tried it in my yard and it seems hard to do. Hope you heal up fast.

5. Hook N Book

Hook N Book The Original Hot Rod Staff Member