Can you name the CATV? PRIZE!

Discussion in 'ATV's' started by cgs500, Jan 12, 2008.

1. Here is an ATV / CATV that I brought back from Mississippi after hurricane Katrina and Rita (owner didn't want to tackle it as a project...it was under 12 ft of saltwater twice). I took quite a bit of research but I finally found out who the manufacturer was. The only identification I could find were plates on the rear axel and engine. It was really fun trying to explain to people at the parts stores what it was while rebuilding the front transaxel and rear end.

It will haul 1800 lbs, is 4X4, has articulating steering, pivots in the middle for rough terrain and has a hydraulic dump box. I is not a sport machine but is a great work horse.

Winner with the most information gets two days of permission to hunt turkey this spring on my property in Ashtabula County.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

GOOD LUCK!

2. Toxic

Toxic Defensor Fortis

Is it from American SportWorks?

3. Nope:)

I have limited knowledge of this machine (although it is pretty simple, except the transaxel) and the reason for the post is to find someone who may know more. I posted on the manufacters message board over a year ago and no one has replied.

Hint: it is somewhere between 1966-69 vintage.

with rearend removed:
    [​IMG]

name plate on rearend:

[​IMG]

4. Toxic

Toxic Defensor Fortis

5. yep! What do you know about them?

6. Toxic

Toxic Defensor Fortis

Sorry, nothing. But I guessed it! :D :D :cool: "Gobble gobble"? I just know how to use several search engines on the net. And I like a challenge. There is really next to nothing on info out on the net about them.

There web site is http://www.feterl.com/Pug/htdocs/products.htm. I really wish I had more information for you. It looks like a really neat little machine. And it looks like you did a great job restoring it without a lot of working knowledge of it.

7. I noticed a small puddle of oil under it. I was gonna guess Harley Davidson.

8. Toxic