close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Can I Keep This Walleye?

Discussion in 'Walleye & Saugeye Discussions' started by marymac, Apr 10, 2008.

1. :confused: Hi, I'm kinda new to this walleye fishin, but not to fishin. My question has probably been asked and answered before but here goes. Since you are not allowed to keep snagged eyes, what do you do if you lip one after someone else threw it back and it still has marks of being snagged before? Do you keep or do you toss? I sure would hate to have to toss it back if I caught it legitimately,same time I don't want to risk being fined.

2. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

Keep it if you actually catch it in the mouth. Be honest, they sniff out liars.

3. NorthSouthOhioFisherman

NorthSouthOhioFisherman The Young Outdoorsman

Down at the Maumee you see fish with 20 snag marks in em-if guys catch them in the mouth they keep them...

4. If you get a walleye with a snag mark on em, you better let em go at Fremont cause you will have to prove that those snag marks are not yours, and thats hard to do. Been there , done that, 137.00 later and will never fish the walleye run there again. And yes, it WAS a legal caught walleye, just you will have to give up a days wages to fight it in court as well as forfeit your gear until you go to court. A money game for sure!!!:mad: Mike

5. ShutUpNFish

ShutUpNFish FishBum

Thats bull. If you catch a fish legitimately, its yours...Bottom Line. There is no way they can fine you for possesing a fish with marks on it. You should have appealed that $137.00 fine. Especially if you were innocent. Its a shame it happened to you Mike, but no amount of money should let 'em get away with that crap!

6. You are innocent until proven guilty........don't forget that.

It's not up to you to prove that you caught it legally, it's up to the law to prove that you caught it illegally.