close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Buying a fishfinder

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by fishintiger, Aug 24, 2004.

1. I was just wondering what you all thought about this. I got a $50 gift certificate for BPS for my B-day and I need a fish finder for my boat so what other way to spend my gift certificate than on a fish finder. The ones I am looking at are the Humminbird PiranhaMax 10 and the PiranhaMax 20 and also the Eagle Cuda 128 and the Eagle Cuda 168. The PiranahaMax 10 and the Cuda 128 are both $79 and the PMax 20 and the Cuda 168 are both $99. After looking at the BPS catalog I think the PMax's are a better deal but I wanted to hear from some of you that have used any of these or a couple of these. Thanks.

fishintiger

2. You get what you pay for when buying a depth finder!!

3. I am by no means an expert on fish finders but I do know that the two on my boat leave a lot to be desired and that when I do break down and replace one I will research it pretty well before buying. I have a couple of older Hummingbird models that give me a decent depth and contour feel. However, I hear everyone talking about the things they can do with their FF's and I know I can not with mine.

I don't think you have to spend major bucks to get a good one but I personally would not buy one of the under $100 models. I have heard a lot of people speak highly of both Eagle and Garmin but they all have different prices for different capabilities. If you can hold off (and not burn a hole in your pocket with the money:D ), I would wait to hear some comments from some folks on here. You don't want to be regretting it afterwards.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

4. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Livin' the moontime

I totally agree. Don't buy one under $100.
    If the budget is tight, look into the Eagle Fishmark 320 ($169) or the Eagle Fishmark 480 ($199). Both give you a lot of bang for the buck.