close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Biggest Catch of My Life

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by olwhitee, Aug 11, 2008.

1. Unfortunately it was not a fish, it was my thirteen years old daughter's head.

First time out this year, we caught a few bass and then it happened. Right after telling her she could stand where she wanted because I am a pro caster, I snagged her in the head with a rattl trap. I only got her with one hook, but it was deep and I could not get it out. I was unable to get sidecutters close enough to cut the hook and did not want to cause anymore harm to her so we went to the ER and they had to cut it out.

I am not sure that there is a worse feeling then to hurt one of your kids, even if it is an accident. She is fine now, and in good spirits teasing me and laughing about it but I am still a bit upset at myself.

Let my accident be a warning, be careful out there.

2. Thanks, me too. Turned out the the hook was not as much deep as I thought. The barb was hung up and I could not get it out. I have got them much deeper in my finger and been able to get them out.

I probably could of got it out myself but could not handle hurting her even more.

I have heard stories of people getting hooked, but never in my life witnesses someone getting hooked like that.

She is ready to go back out fishing again so it seems to not have bothered her as much as it did me. She was laughing and teasing me the whole time.

3. zipperneck52

zipperneck52 fished with Noah