Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ill start by saying hows it goin everyone im new to OGF. But to the matter at hand so i've been fishing different spots on the big walnut and ive caught LMB, ,RockBass,Green sunfish and the first white crappie ive seen in there yesterday, have seen carp and the odd small channel cat too was wondering if anyones ever seen many smallies or anything else in it. Not askin anyone to give up any spots or anything just curious as to what all i can expect

·
Registered
68 Posts
The walnut is full of smallies. It's amazing to me that you've managed to land all those other species and haven't come across any. Also, depending on what stretch you are in, the creek is abundant with saugeye and long nose gar

·
deleted
3,891 Posts
It sounds like you have made a good sampling so far. Every creek in Central Ohio is a good smallmouth creek. Most of them also have some saugeye in them. On rare occasions, you may catch a member of the pike family. You never know when a catfish might bight anything you put out there. On rare occasions, a huge carp might eat any offering, natural or artificial.

Just keep searching and casting. I have been doing this for 40 years, and I try to fish new water every year. Use that Google Satellite view!

·
Registered
2,238 Posts
I've had some nice drum while smallie fishing BW.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
haha oh i use google satellite like a fiend, it's the only reason ive found some of these spots. But yeah im surprised i havent stumbled on any smallies yet. ive heard about a white bass run in the spring as well.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
ftw, youre talking about the big walnut right? i had no idea there would be saugeye and gar in there.

·
Registered
405 Posts