close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

big dipsy setup?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Gju42486, Aug 17, 2007.

1. Gju42486

Gju42486 Banned

im going to be going out next weekend and trying something new to me....big dipsies off the sides. Yea, Ive been fishing erie for the last 10 years or so since i was 11 and havnt ran big dipsies off the sides, we always pulled either little dipsies, big jets, or wire when the fish got deep, never big dipsies though. My question is, i plan on running 2, maybe 3 per side, on a 1 1/2, 2 1/2 and a 3 1/2....where do these settings go in relation to the boat, i am assuming, since the 3 1/2 is going to be out the farthest, it goes in the holder closest to the bow, the 2 1/2 should follow, and the 1 1/2 in farthest aft, is my assumption correct? also, is is fairly easy to run 3 per side, or am i better sticking to 2? Then my last question, is say a fish hits the 3 1/2 farthest forward, i assume, like a big board line, you pop the dipsy to trip (if it hasnt done so already) and let it swing around towards the back to clear the remaining 2 lines? Thanks guys for the help, hopefully everything will work out and we can widen are techniques a little, the 50 jets and wire line sure have been doing good though for us this year.

2. I have only ever ran two big dipsys off one side at once. not sayin three wouldn't work. From the limited eire fishing I have done the system that works best for me is two big jets on the board line with a big dipsy on a 1 to 1.5 setting in the rod holder closer to the transom. When you have two dipsy on one side of the boat you can clear them just like you clear the jets by swing it towards the back of the boat. Sounds like you know the system and just need to get out there and try fishing with the big dipsy. Good luck

3. Hetfieldinn

Hetfieldinn Staff Member

I would say start with two Dipsys, and maybe a Jet straight out the back.