Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
7,880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not a big time perch fisherman, but I've done more already this year than in the past 10 yrs combied.

I've been experimenting with rigs that attract the fish. My best to date starts as a crappie rig, and I add rattle / clunker attractor using rattle beads with metal beads.

I know there are guys out there as into the perch as I am the walleyes, and assume they have some special rigs or set-ups, and even though I tried to do a search, when you use the word perch, you get so many hits that you can't find what your looking for.

Anyone care to share a special rig designed to pull the fish in.

Tia & good fishing.

·
Registered
9 Posts
1 1/2 oz and no4 red true turn single hook will get the big perch out of the mud. This system works the best for me. Braid line, sometimes fluorocarbon leader.

·
Registered
7,771 Posts
Jim,
I'm no perch expert either. I have been tying my own "crappie rigs" up though. I use a gold plated weight in most cases. about 4" above that, I have a bead, hook lear, then another bead. ( double the line back thru the bead so lear stays in place). About 8" above that, I have another bead/lear/bead. About 12" above that I have couple beads and a real small blade then swivel. I also have some colored tubing, cut to about same length as horizontal part of the lear. After attaching my hooks, which I tie with floruocarbon so they stand more straight out and don't "droop", I slide a little of the tubing out over the hook leader to help it stick out more and not tangle with vertical part of line. Wish I had a pic to show.

All that being said, I fish with folks that have no "bling" what so ever on their rigs and they seem to catch as many as I do! I think a better answer is to use the famous fish caller! :)

Attachments

·
Registered
7,880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Three tickets yesterday 37' water, all fish 10-12"
Very nice!!