close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

berkley steelhead rods

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by stormfront, Jun 29, 2008.

1. stormfront

stormfront Guest

need a little bit of help please. have been looking at buying another steelhead rod and came across these on the net. does anyone know or have any experience with them? they run about 80 bux, which seems decent.

the actual rods are called berkley select air-im7 specialty rods.

the above rod is a med. lt. i already own an 11.5 kunnan noodle rod but was looking at something a bit shorter and lighter. is this too heavy a rod (action) for floating a jig or spawn? i have limited experience steelheading, so any advice will be appreciated. thanx

2. BigDaddy300

BigDaddy300 multi species angler

I use the Berkley 10 1/2' noddle. It is a Buzz Ramsey. I had one for 2 years and I broke it. I was devastated because I could not find one at the time. Gander started carring them so I got another last season. I really like it because it is not as noodley as some others that I have had. It has good backbone for getting those steelies under control.

3. They make a nice line of rods. I fished the A94-9MS for a season and it was light with enough power to handle our fish. It was a bit short for float fishing, though.

4. berkley does make some good rods. others....not so good. i would look into brownings line of noodle rods. they are in that price range. i have been fishing them for 8 years now and have had great success. just picked up a six rivers this year with the telescoping butt and it's damn nice for pier fishing in indiana and michigan. nice heavy blank as well with a bit more backbone than others which is hard to find and i personally love

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/s..._cat=RLP&cm_pla=52900&cm_ite=productname_link

5. stormfront

stormfront Guest

appreciate the help friends.