close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Bass fishing with live frogs???

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Whiskers, Sep 28, 2004.

1. Anyone tried it?

I'm think of giving it a try this weekend at a private pond.

I have a lot of experience fishing with the rubber frogs on top, and have had some good results at this same pond. Thought maybe adding the "live" element would give me even better results.

Whiskers

2. I used to fish them in pounds back in WV. Hook them in the thigh of one of the back legs. I tried other methods but this one lets them swim without interfering with the hook set.

3. rockbass

rockbass Banned

Walter, you fished them by the pounds, or in ponds?? hehe :D

They can be good. Just like plastics though, the fish have to be there for them to work! I never tried the leg method. I always hooked them from bottom to upper lip. I never had problems with them or the hook set. I may try the leg thing next time I fish live frogs!

4. I grew up with a great LM bass pond in the back yard. I hook them the same as rockbass - never had a problem, they live forever. The cast is what will kill them.

At "my" pond a frog or toad was almost a sure bet for a 2-4 lber. I used to love watching the water explode when they take the frog down.

5. fishingredhawk

fishingredhawk Ohio Hawg Hunter

I've used them in Canada, hooked through the leg. The smallmouth in the lakes up there love them!

6. Darwin

Darwin If your gonna be a bear..

As Walter Adkins said hook them in the thigh of the back leg. My only problem with it is I feel a little guilty doing it. :eek:

Give me a gig and I will go to town on frogs and have one very fine dinner. There is something about sticking that hook through them and they look at like why in the hell did you just do that!! :eek: :D :eek: