close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Baitrunner 3500 - What # test line?

Discussion in 'Carp Discussions' started by MarrakeshExpress, Jul 14, 2005.

1. I think I'm going to be getting a Baitrunner 3500 to be doing some carping with, any my question is what lb test line to put on it. The Shimano site shows it for 10/12 lb test, but is that enough strength, and if so which are good lines to use in that range? Thanks for any tips you guys can provide. I'm new enough to fishing as is, but a complete newbie to Carping.

2. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

12 pound will do fine.don't think i'd want to go much heavier.
    p-line flouroclear or trilene would be my choice for line.

3. RiverRat

RiverRat Banned

The 3500 like you said is rated for 10 & 12 lb tests. You still can run 6 lb. test on it...or run 25 lb. test on it...biggest diference going to be line capacity..the bigger the dia. of the line the less amount of yrds your reels going to hold.

I mostly run 12 line test line on all my baitrunner style reels for carp as standard. If you fish waters with a lot of zebra muscles, large rock or lots of wood in the areas you will be fishing for carp...then you might want to step up to 14-17 lb. tests. or run a long section of heavy shock leader.

Brand of line...wow thats about like asking which brand of reel or which brand of truck..or which football team is best..lots of personal opinions.
    One brand i know many will agree on is Berkley Big game...its strong, holds up well to lots of fish and is priced better than most brands.

There is basically 3 type of line to choose from..mono, co-polymer and braided lines.

The most basic line used is monofilament..can get it anywhere, cheap, strong many many brands to choose from. normally 18-20% stretch.

Co-plolymer, like mono but is smaller in diameter, stronger than mono, softer, casts better...doesnt have the spool memory like mono. stretches less than mono.