close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Baitcast Reels - Differences Between Left/Right Handed

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by MarrakeshExpress, Jun 25, 2005.

1. I'm going to be getting a new baitcast setup in additional to my spinning gear pretty soon and one thing I've observed looking at various models, the "right handed" model has the handle on the right. After using spinning gear for so long, this seams a little unnatural to me. So, I was wondering if there was any reason not to buy a "left handed" model and still cast right handed. Aside from left/right retrieve preference, wouldn't it just be easier to cast with the handle on the left anyway, since you wouldn't have to switch hands after casting? I was just curious about that and since I'm new to baitcasters, I thought I'd ask.

2. mrfishohio

mrfishohio Recovering Fishaholic

If you're right handed, get a right handed reel. I thought the same thing, my son has a lefthanded model, it's really hard to make that switch. You'd think it would be the opposite, but I guess they knew what they were doing. RH if you're right handed.

3. Fish4Fun

Fish4Fun Relaxing.

Mrfish is dead on if your right handed get the right handed or you will probably want to throw the thing away after the first day.

4. Thanks for the advice. Sometimes logic doesn't quite work out in reality I suppose.