Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
rippin lips
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got ahold of an 8wt set up that i plan on using for steelhead..when i took it for a test run today, i felt like there was an excessive amount of backing on my reel. If i were targeting steelhead, is it better to have a good amount of backing? Or would it be better to have a little less backing with a little more fly line? I just picked up fly fishing this past spring for trout up in pa, so I'm still pretty green..any help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you all,
-Brad

·
rippin lips
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hipwader, thanks for the response. That definitely helped. Like i said, I'm still pretty new at this, and there is a lot to take in! Lol. Thanks again and tight lines!

·
Registered
751 Posts
I've got about 125 yds on mine and almost got spooled on one fish last year. When they take off it is very quick and only takes a second to get into your backing.

·
rippin lips
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've got about 125 yds on mine and almost got spooled on one fish last year. When they take off it is very quick and only takes a second to get into your backing.
Oh, really? Well, the full purpose of the backing was never really explained to me completely. What I've gathered from doing some research is that it's to help fight the fish when they do take you on a long run..is that correct?

Sent from my XT555C using Ohub Campfire mobile app

·
Registered
751 Posts