close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Asian Carp

Discussion in 'Carp Discussions' started by bumblebee, Jul 21, 2007.

1. Has anyone or Does anyone know anyone that has tried to eat one of these Asian Carp? I have been really interested in these fish and how they are spreading across the US.

2. PAYARA

PAYARA THE ONE YOU LOVE TO HATE

Yeah,I'm interested in them too.Can't wait to catch a
    100lber!.....I have no experience with eating them,but
    most of the Asian guys I run into while fishing know a
    thing or two about it.

3. they are edible and there is already a growing commercial market for them, but they are selling them over seas. as for them spreading they thankfully have not made much of a hold into the ohio portion of the ohio river, though some are there, we did see some silvers down in cannelton pool last week though, but even then not many

4. My dad went out today and fished the Mississippi river for catfish in MO. He said these carp were just everywhere. It was the first time he had been on the river in years and could not believe the numbers of these fish.

5. Filet them and remove every bit of the mud vein. Brine them in apple juice over night then smoke them with apple wood. You'll be surprised how good it is. They also pickle well.

6. Carpn

Carpn BOWFISHERMAN

Friends that have eaten said they were OK. The ones I've seen cleaned have been larger bigheads and they had some fairly large bones. We're gonna down on the Ohio in KY to bowfish for em next weekend. If anybody wants some bighead meat I'll bring some back. Just let me know.

7. Carpn

Carpn BOWFISHERMAN

Just a FYI for you all...A couple friends and I went bowfishing last night near rising sun and ran into a few Bigheads along the way. They're here...just not in the same numbers as they are on the other side of Louisville..

8. Fishman

Fishman Catch bait???