close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Are the steelheads in rivers yet

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by elyfishingmaster, Nov 1, 2004.

1. elyfishingmaster

elyfishingmaster Junior member

Are they in the rivers yet. I have another question everyone is talking about little cleo's if anyone has any information about it can you please post or email me

lilred3490@aol.com

2. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)

3. There are a few in the rivers, but not in any great numbers. If you're lucky, you'll catch one or two. Try the mouths of the rivers.

4. elyfishingmaster

THanks you it is my first time for steelhead any tips will also be greatly appreciated.

5. BigDaddy300

BigDaddy300 multi species angler

Little Cleos and K/O Wobblers work well. Could also try a maraboo jig tipped with a few maggots drifted under a float. 1/32 to 1/64oz with a strong hook in black is a good starting point. When on the river ask some questions. Most people are willing to help. If you can think of some more questions feel free to ask here. Buy the way where do you plan on fishing for steelies?

6. elyfishingmaster

i was planning on going to the vermillion river. Last year we went to mill hollow when they was out and i seen someone catch one so that is why i want to try it because it looks like a good fight

thanks you KFM

7. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)

Now, Im NO expert, not even remotely close, but Ive "put my time in", and fished for them a lot. I have only caught about 5 in my whole life, (3 this fall so far :) )

Youll probably find them to be a challenge to hook up with at first, dont be discouraged. Think of it as a challenge. Enjoy the chase and think of it as a learning experience out on the water, even if you dont catch one right away.