Anyone tie their own flyfishing flies and jigs?

Discussion in 'Tackle Making' started by TIGGER, Nov 30, 2007.

1. Does anyone tie their own fly fishing fly's and steelhead jigs? I love seeing that kinda stuff.

I have heard rumors that Brandon ties some killer ones. Purple hair something???????

2. I tie all my fly fishing flies as well as jigs and treble hook dressing.[​IMG]

3. I'm just getting into this. Tied my first float n fly jig a week ago. It turned out decent for my first one with no real instruction. I'll post a pic later.

4. heres some clousers--- gummys---crease flies and zonker style flies used on some fall trips---i tied them mostly for saltwater but some should work on steelhead too

Attached Files:

5. For the estuaries of Lake Erie, I found that the steelhead responded to a "jig and maggot" combo better, if the foo jig style fly was shortened to about a length of 1 inch or maybe an 1 1/8. It seems to be closer to the length of the bait fish in those streams.

6. Most of my steelhead streamers are tied on a size 4 XXL hook. The finished streamer ends up between 4 and 5 inches. When I have fished a hole or run to the point that the nymphs and eggs are no longer working, I will tie on a large streamer for a total change which will often produce another fish or two.

7. liquidsoap

liquidsoap Pay-it-foward fisherman

Pretty sharp looking clousers ledslinger!
    I tie jigs and a few flys, but not so much recently. :)

8. BigDaddy300

BigDaddy300 multi species angler

Nice looking ties ledslinger. I like the gummys and have been wanting to give them a try.

Ron, is that a hair jig for Erie eyes? Looks great!

Here are a few of the patterns that I tie. They have worked well for me.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

9. Those are really gorgeous, Rick!

10. Wow nice stuff Guys!!!!!!!!! I love this kinda stuff! I want to see more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have heard that the Purple hair jig is unstoppable in the spring for Lake Erie walleye.