close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Any one a Doc out there?????

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by onesmokinduramax, Apr 11, 2008.

1. What is good to use for Poison Ivy? I have been puting calomine lotion on it.Its been Itching bad!!! Im open for any thing to get it to stop itching!!!

2. I am no doctor but this works for me scratch it raw and pee on it it burns like heck but you wont be itching anymore and the poison ivy will be dried up the next day and on its way to healing I think that its the amonnia in the urine.hope this helps

3. PapawSmith

PapawSmith Bud n Burgers

What if he has it on his forehead? Guess he'll have get a buddy to help. :(
    I'm no doctor either, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last week. (No really I did). I don't get it often but when I do I pour turpentine on a rag and wipe the affected area well, this removes the oil from the plant. I then pour a good bit of dish soap in my hands and scrub the crap out of my hands and the area affected. This will prevent spreading. All you can do with the rash you do have is treat it with Ivy Dry or similar products. The rash you already have will not spread on its own. Only the plant oil can cause further problems hence the turpentine it removes all the oils. Good luck and please don't ever pee on me if you see me scratch my head. :p

4. BrianSipe17

BrianSipe17 Brilliant!

Go to the local doc or urgent care and get some steroids. The pills work best (prednisone), plus get the shot if you want rid of it quick. I got it bad twice at Griggs Reservoir a couple years ago (won't tell you where all I had it ;)

Anyways, it wouldn't go away without the Prednisone. I couldn't sleep and had to keep getting up to take those scalding hot showers.

5. DaleM

DaleM Original OGF Staff Member

Brian is correct.