close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Any Basement Waterproofers out here?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by harle96, Jan 4, 2009.

1. harle96

harle96 Draggin Meat

I've been fighting Efflorecense for 15 years about 40 inches and lower in the basement.

Well decided to try once again to conquer it. Scrapped all of the loose paint and old drylok coating down to bare block in most places and felt confident that after the crete was etched and parged with waterstop that the minerals would not be able to penetrate to the airs surface.

I was wrong. The morning after the efflorecense burned through.

This is a Century home in West Side of Cleveland. They are notorious for moisture. No drain tile. I can't afford to fix it correctly on the exterior ($10,000).

I know their are other options. This link below is one of them. You think this would work in my situation? I do not have standing water, but assume that I have 40 inches of water filled in my block walls. Sound logical?

This system would cost around 1,200.00.
    http://www.waterproof.com/installation.html

2. you know that you can not connect this to the sewer ? you would have to pump it out of the house to the street or were ever!!

3. harle96

harle96 Draggin Meat

Thanks for the info Joe. I'm capable to do whatever is necessary to properly divert the water. I've always worked with the City on any of my projects. Just thought this may be a better solution than trenching aroung the interior perimeter.

Looks like I'll give B-dry a call and get an estimate. Anyone have any luck with their system?

4. I had a similar problem (1890's home near Akron). I had lower wall seepage, and seepage up through cracks in the floor.