Any advice for a beginner

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by randywatson, Jul 31, 2008.

1. A couple of weeks ago I went bass fishing in the Everglades and loved it. I thought the itch to fish would have worn off by now, but it hasn't. I live w/in 1/2 mile of the Scioto and work right across the street from it so I figure why not start fishing around here.

Other than some blue gill fishing when I was a kid and a couple flat fishing trips in Florida, I have no experience fishing. I'd like to start fishing for small and/or large mouths from the shore or wading. I've read some good pointers and tips on here already but any other help or advice (i.e. equipment, bait, good locations, etc.) would be much appreciated. Thanks.

2. streamstalker

streamstalker deleted

As basic as it gets for catching bass and anything else in the Scioto, Olenangy etc:

Rig:
    Go to about any fishing department and get a lightweight spinning combo for around $40. I think they are pretty much all the same in that price range and by the time you wear it out, you'll be ready to spend some more. Some places will spool it with line for free or a small charge. Fill it with 8 lb. Trilene XL monofilament line.

Lures:
    Get some #3 size Mepps Spinners (my favorite is called the Aglia). These are often also referred to as in-line spinners or Rooster Tails (another popular brand). KMart sells an off-brand called South Bend in a six-pack. They are cheap and work great...and you will lose them if you are doing it right. Throw them upstream at a 45 degree angle (preferably near some kind of structure or change in the flow of the water) and reel them back in fast enough so that you can feel the blade vibrate when it spins in the water. Sometimes you've got to give it a quick jerk to start it spinning.