Antrim was hot today 4/1/08 Report

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by JamesT, Apr 1, 2008.

1. JamesT

JamesT Banned

I went to Antrim from 7:30 to 11 this morning and did pretty well. Started off a little slow on the east side of the lake in some spots that have produced for me in the past.

Around 8:30, I made my way to the northeast corner and started throwing a 1/2 oz Acme Kastmaster with my 8ft medium heavy spinning rig for extra long casts. After casting, I gave the lure a solid 6 second count to sink and slowly reeled in.

The action started with 2 smallies in the 14-15" range, about 1.5 pounds each. Then, interestingly, I landed a 24" channel cat, and a fat one at that. Three largemouth in the 16" range; all were very pale in color. From 9:30 to 10:30, there was no action, but around 10:30, I felt a serious tug on my lure and knew I had a good fish on.

At first I thought it was one of the huge trout that I've been targeting for the alst two years. After a 4-5 minute battle, I landed something I'd never seen. Can anyone identify this fish? All I know is that it was one of the biggest freshwater fish I've caught - maybe 10-12 pounds. Sorry for the poor picture quality but all I had was my Treo cellphone camera and had to ask an onlooker to take the pic. Is this thing some kind of catfish?

Attached Files:

2. I think those are called spoon bills or paddle bills or something like that. Those are in the Deer Creek spillway and are protected. Wonder how it got into Antrim, maybe the river flooded one year or something. Nice catch.

3. I think this is called APRIL FOOLS!!!

4. JamesT

JamesT Banned

Didn't know they were protected. As I was getting ready to release it, another fisherman wanted to take it with him for dinner. Good thing I declined and let that guy swim another day...I wonder how big those get?

5. wow...u guys are gullible.

6. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD