close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Antler Shed Hunting!!!

Discussion in 'Bucks and Does' started by Nightprowler, Jan 21, 2005.

1. Nightprowler

Nightprowler Crappie Hunter

I am new to this SPORT. I was wondering if its to early to start now or should I wait another month? Could use any tip's or help...even some of your experience's. I was out once a few days ago, when the snow was fresh and was able to trail 2 does, but no sheds.

2. You may find some this early but your chances are lower because there are probably still a good number carrying them around. I do not do much of it but have heard of guys doing fairly well at it. I think it takes a lot of leg work. At this time of the year you will want to concentrate on food sources and stick close to them. It is sort of like regular hunting in that you will want to find their travel areas to and from bedding and eating since that is pretty much what they will be doing now. Hopefully some guys with more experience at it will hop in and provide some advice.

3. Bassnpro1

Bassnpro1 OSU outdoorsman

I can't wait! I shed hunt every year, and I have already found one this year. Although I was rabbit hunting when I found it. I would give it two more weekends before I will hit the woods hard. I have a buddy in SW oh and he went out yesterday looking for sheds, but saw three bucks with antlers still on. There are some on the ground but not in good numbers yet. Feb 1 is normally when i really get after them, and by the middle of feb to late feb most have dropped them. Bigger ones normally fall first though and it is tempting to go early and find them before other people do.

Just curious, what kinds of areas do you shed hunt in around columbus? I am at school here and don't know the area real well to find any good shed hunting areas.