close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Antelope Guides

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BassBlaster, Sep 3, 2007.

1. I'm thinking about booking an antelope hunting trip for the 08 or 09 season. Has anyone ever done this and have an outfitter they reccomend? I would like to hunt in Montana. I have been searching on line and found many but thought I'd ask for any reccomedations before I just pick one from on line. Also what caliber rifle would you reccomend? The laws in Montana say you need to hunt with a .243 or bigger but I have little experience with rifles and don't know what the best choice would be.

2. jeffmo

jeffmo officially unofficial!!!!

there are a tons of guides so whoever you look at do some background work.ask for a list of past customers so you can talk with them.check with the montana dow to see if the guide has ever had any complaints or fines against them.
    here's a site that lists alot of outfitter reviews from different states.

http://www.huntinfo.com/reviews/outfitter_reviews.php3

i don't have any experience in montana but know a little about the area around craig colorado.i could put you in touch with some solks out there who would be able to point you in the right direction.
    if it were me i'd want to go after elk.better eating and ALOT more meat for the freezer!

3. Thanks for the pointers. I definately plan on doing the research. I was just hoping to get a head start by finding someone that had allready used a guide and had a good experience.

I would love to hunt elk. That is what I was researching when I decided to go for antelope. Basically elk hunts start in the area of $6000 plus licence, tags, tips, airfare, etc. Antelope hunts start in the area of $1400 plus all the same. I'm not a rich man and the wife would flip if I booked a $6000 hunt. I decided to go with the antelope and get a similar experience for a portion of the price and will book an elk hunt somewhere down the road.