close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Another mirror from the local pond, SW Ohio

Discussion in 'Carp Discussions' started by TimJC, Oct 5, 2005.

1. TimJC

TimJC Carp Angler

As many of you may already know, the pond that I have been pulling many mirrors out is being considered for the 2006 CAG Ohio Fish-In schedule. Since I have disclosed the location elsewhere I shall do so here as well. The name of the park that I have been fishing since June is Pine Hill Lakes in southwest Ohio.

Now, for today's session...

I arrived at the park at 11:20a and managed to get to my swim, bait up and cast both rods out by 11:40a. This is quite an accomplishment since it is almost a 400 yard walk to my swim. Anyway, I baited the area with three quarters of a can of sweetcorn (saving the rest for hookbait) and some method mix that I threw together with the small amounts of oats, grits, and breadcrumbs I had at my disposal. Then the waiting begins...

After moping around for a while, it happened. Just after one I got my first run. The only problem was that the fish didn't stop running after I picked up the rod. As I watched my line sliced through the water like cheese, I noticed that the fish was heading straight for some timber on the opposite bank. At this point I knew I was trouble and I started to palm the spool, but this barely slowed the fishes approach at all. I tried to pull the fish away with one last jerk but I was unsuccessful. The fish snagged my line in the branches. I decided to give the fish some slack but the there didn't seem for be any pulling. The fish must already be gone. So I slowly eased back on my rod and noticed that it was all over when I couldn't feel any vibration of a struggling fish on the other end. I pulled and pulled and my line finally snapped right at the log, causing me to lose 15 to 20 yards of braid. That fish really irked me, being the only fish to ever accomplish such a feet on this water.