Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
FatMat
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was out looking for perch the other day and spotted a nice school, I made a waypoint and pulled up a bit further than where I marked the fish. It was a bit rough out I forgot to add. Anyways I dropped the anchor and by the time it set I was way behind the mark. I tried 3-4 times but could not for the love of God get that boat to anchor over the school. I am new to having to anchor to fish so I am wondering if anyone has a few tips. I was in 40 FOW, was 2-3 ft waves not windy, its a powered anchor but free falls when dropped.

·
FatMat
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also I would like to ask, when you spot the school on your finder at what point do your drop?

·
Registered
7,851 Posts
Mark the school with a float. Pull the boat well up wind of the marker and drop anchor. Play out line until you get on or even with the marker. Adjust sideways by using different attachments points on th boat until it swings onto the school.

With practice and experience you'll be able to skip the float.

Realize that you need not be perfectly on the school. Aften if you let the engine idle, you can attract them or pull them over to you.

Good luck.

·
Registered
3,850 Posts
"Pull the boat well up wind of the marker and drop anchor"

Chris....you're not alone by a long shot. Jim gives a great suggestion. Most of us probably don't set up far enough upwind.

The hand grenade rule applies.....close is good enough.

btw.....those fish schools we see....have been known to move.

·
FatMat
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)