close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Alum Lake Duck Hunting

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by Fishin' -n- Grinnin', Jul 25, 2008.

1. Hello,

I'm new to the Columbus Ohio area and plan to hunt from my boat at Alum Creek Lake this duck season. Heard that there is a drawing for shoreline waterfowl blinds and boat hunters can hunt anywhere without a blind location as long as they heave proper distance to the shore bound folk. Could anyone give me an idea what to expect on opening day at Alum lake? Is the lake packed with hunters? Does DNR provide maps with shore blind locations so I don’t set-up on someone? Is one area of the lake more crowded than another? Is it like the fishing pressure now where everybody flocks to the lake for the weekend and the week days are dead?

Your thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Ben

2. If it's like hunting CC the pressure is un-godly the first week, then it slows down a bit.Best bet on finding out where the blinds are is to contact the district office. Hope that helps some.

3. Pull into the rangers office at the lake and they should be able to provide the basic info you are looking for.
    maps and locations and shooting zones and such.

4. Thanks ya'll! That helps. I have been spending some time trolling the lake for muskie and paying attention to the areas that would be best for setting up a blind. Does Alum have a winter pool level? Down south in Kentucky they drain the lakes down about 15 feet to accomodate melting snow and the wet weather that is usually associated with the winter months. The area that I have been scoping out that would be best is the north western area after the second bridge. Looks like one would get a good wind break and if the birds are flying with the wind and migrating south, then as they pass overhead they could circle back to the set-up. You know that rest,... Boom,... Boom,... yea! Duck:)