close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Afraid to ask this......

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by fshnteachr, Jul 4, 2007.

1. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

but I was out on the LMR today and came across a snake every bit of 4-5 feet long sitting on a log. Picture below doesn't do it justice...she was a biggy. Anyhow, I have never been too concerned about snakes, figured most were little and none are poisonous around here, but sitting eye to eye in my kayak with a big one like I did today was a bit spooky! :)

Anyone had any similiar encounters around here in any of the rivers? (Not sure that I want to know :)

http://www.ohiogamefishing.com/photopost/showphoto.php?photo=26364&cat=500

2. Looks like just a big black snake. Harmless, but they all give me the creeps! lol

3. Ðe§perado™

Ðe§perado™ Catfisherman/Bowfisherman

Looks like a big brown water snake that just ate. They won't hurt you.

4. I am a expert in this field. I own an a education business and we specialize in reptiles. The pic is far away but could be one of two things a black rat snake or northern water snake. They are perfectly harmless and are quick to get out of the way. There are no vemonous snakes in this part of the state. Ronnie

Crocodile Haven
    www.crocodilehaven.com

5. pendog66

pendog66 It swims its bait

northern water snake

6. crocodile,
    there are two poisonous snakes in this part of SW Ohio..one is almost never seen and that is the timber rattler the other is the copperhead...and there is plenty of them on the lmr

7. There are no vemonous snakes in this part of the state. Ronnie

DO WHAT?