close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Advice for a rookie musky hunter

Discussion in 'Muskie & Pike Discussions' started by bkr43050, Aug 26, 2004.

1. I have been saying for 2 years now that I am going to give the muskie fishing a try and I am going to try to hold myself to it real soon. In a few weeks when the water temps begin lower a bit I am planning to take a trip up to Clearfork Reservoir (probably my closest musky water) and give it a shot. I have had plenty of experience with pike in Ontario but have never gotten a chance to land a musky.

I would like to ask a few questions to see what some of you more experienced musky hunters would suggest.

1. My musky tackle is fairly limited but I do have a couple of musky specific plugs (Jake and a Believer) along with a few large bucktail spinners. In addition, I have a few Rapalas in large sizes (6"+). What would you suggest trying? We may try several but I am curious to hear what may be the better lure for that time.

2. Would we still be better off trolling at that time of the year?

3. A co-worker clued me in on some of the places to try in Clearfork. In a couple or 3 weeks from now would they still be suspended over deep water and if so approximately what kind of depth would you try to target at first?

4. When will Clearfork Reservoir turn over? I am assuming it has a summer thermocline.

I know there are plenty of questions here but hopefully someone can help. I will be sure to get some pics for posting if we are lucky enough to hook up...and land one.:D

Thanks in advance guys.

2. Okay, no responses yet. I wonder if that means all the musky hunters are out hunting?:D

3. fishcrazy

fishcrazy Muskie Chaser