close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

About to buy first steelhead rod

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by BigSteve, Apr 20, 2008.

1. BigSteve

BigSteve Member

I'm just getting into steelhead fishing after going with a buddy a few times. I've been using his 9ft GLoomis, and want to buy a rod of my own. My question is what type of acion i should be looking for in a rod? Light,MediumLight,or Medium? We were using 8lb main line so i think medium might be to heavy. Is light to light? Not sure if I'm going to buy something in the 9ft or 10ft lengths yet. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

2. go with at least a 10 ft or more.its so much easier with the longer rod,as for action.try them out,everyone has different taste on wath they like.

3. I use a 10'6 and like it. I've used 8'6 to 9'0 ian in the past, and you can definitely tell the difference. I personally think a medium light is perfect for drifting under a float and fighting steelhead in just about any type of water.

4. Considering the powerfull runs that steelhead will make when hooked, and the fact that you will likely be using a lower pound test leader line, it is essential to have a long and limber rod to absorb shock and protect your line from snapping. The optimum steelheading rod is long, with slow action, with nothing over medium light power. G-Loomis makes some outstanding steelie rods, but they come with a big price tag as well.

John

5. Don't know what your budget limit is, but the new St. Croix avid steelhead rods are pretty nice for the price. The 2008 line (redone to provide lighter rods with a bit more length) is an improvement over the prior models. Weight and action is much better than their 'wild river' rods. I have been using the 10' 6" avid since they released it late last fall. Most are a bit over 200 bucks.